Join  |  Login

AAU 2012 Graduation Fashion Show and Awards Ceremony

by Publicist
The School of Fashion at Academy of Art University in San Francisco, California presented collections from graduating students at the 2012 Graduation Fashion Show and Awards Ceremony. At the invitation only event, Dr. Elisa Stephens, president of the University, gave the degree of Honorary Doctorate to Sarah Burton, creative director of Alexander McQueen, milliner Philip Treacy, and H.R.H. Princess Reema Bandar Al-Saud, who has extensive experience in luxury retail and is the CEO of the ALFA and AL HAMA companies that own and operate Harvey Nichols Department Store, Donna Karan, and DKNY stores in Saudi Arabia.

At a luncheon hosted by Dr. Elisa Stephens in honor of this year’s guests, San Francisco society and industry friends of the School of Fashion gathered at The Cannery overlooking the Bay. Mayor Ed Lee attended and was presented a cake in celebration of his birthday. Guests included former Mayor Willie Brown and Sonya Molodetska, Jennifer Raiser, Christine Suppes, Deepa Pakianathan, Tatiana Sorokko, Cameron Silver, Maria Manetti Farrow, Consul General to the United Kingdom Priya Guha, and John Capizzi, VP & General Manager of Neiman Marcus San Francisco. The guests of honor were presented with original illustrations by Gladys Perint Palmer, executive director of the School of Fashion.

In addition to Sarah Burton, Philip Treacy, and H.R.H. Princess Reema Bandar Al-Saud, Suzy Menkes the fashion editor of International Herald Tribune, Cathy Horyn the fashion critic of The New York Times, Stephan Rabimov the editor in chief of DEPESHA, and Jayne Seward the fashion editor of Apparel News visited classrooms to speak to students and view their work. Stephan Rabimov and Jayne Seward worked with Editorial Styling students while Suzy Menkes and Cathy Horyn talked to Fashion Journalism students.

Some of the graduating students: Renata Lindroos, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Mina Fadaie, B.F.A. Textile Design; Hely Nguyen, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Erica Laba, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Liza Quiñones, B.F.A. Textile Design; Emma Mengchen Yang, B.F.A. Knitwear Design; Ethan Chihuan Yang, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Rumi Iwasaki, B.F.A. Men’s Wear Design; Rachel Sansom, B.F.A. Fashion and Textile Design; Chelsea Levinson, B.F.A. Knitwear Design; Kim Tran, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Orly Ruaimi, M.F.A. Fine Art Sculpture and Jewelry Design; Joe Chung, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Mimi Iwasaki, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Maria A. Romero; Steven La Fuente, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Antonio Luna; Eli Daniel Odisho, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Miriam Tolentino, B.F.A. Textile Design; Angela Sison, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Jacqueline Rabôt, B.F.A. Fashion Design; Julie Seltzer, B.F.A. Textile Design; Zhangchi Wang, B.F.A. Fashion Design; and Massa Ito, B.F.A. Fashion Design.

About Academy of Art University:
With more than 17,000 students, Academy of Art University is the nation’s largest private art and design university. Established in 1929, the school offers accredited A.A., B.A., B.F.A., M.A., and M.F.A. programs in Acting, Advertising, Animation & Visual Effects, Architecture, Art Education, Fashion, Fine Art, Game Design, Graphic Design, Illustration, Industrial Design, Interior Architecture & Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures & Television, Multimedia Communications, Music Production & Sound Design for Visual Media, Photography, and Web Design & New Media. Online degrees are offered in most areas. Academy of Art University is an accredited member of WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges), NASAD, NAAB (Master of Architecture), and Council for Interior Design Accreditation (BFA & MFA-IAD).

Academy of Art University
School of Fashion
79 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94105

Fashion School Daily:
Instagram: aaufashion

In-House Public Relations
Ian MacKintosh / 415.618.3849 /

Photos from left to right: (1) Willie Brown, Elisa Stephens, Mayor Edwin Lee, Hydra Mendoza; (2) Priya Guha, Thomas Horn, Suzy Menkes, Philip Treacy; (3) Simon Ungless, Sarah Burton, Elisa Stephens; (4) PhilipTreacy Hat Demo; (5) Angela Sison runway; (6) Rachael Sansom and Chelsea Levinson runway; (7) Antonio Luna runway; (8) Kim Tran and Orly Ruaimi runway.

Photo Credit: Randy Brooke